2017 Booktubeathon

Hello!

The Booktubeathon is slowly coming upon us and I never participated in it but I decided to try and do it this year! I love readathons because they really help me get through books quickly and some of the challenges are so fun!

It currently is July 24th- July 30th

So for those that don’t know the Booktubeathon is where book tube comes together and reads books and makes videos! I don’t do the video part since I don’t have a YouTube channel so I just do the challenges focussed on reading! I’ll leave the challenges down below!

Challenges:
1/ Read a book with a person on the cover.
2/ Read a hyped book.
3/ Finish a book in one day.
4/ Read about a character that is very different from you.
5/ Finish a book completely outdoors.
6/ Read a book you bought because of the cover.
7/ Read seven books.

So I don’t know if I can get to all of the challenges and I might try and combine so my TBR might change but here is my tentative TBR for this readathon.

Challenge 1: Read a book with a person on the cover. 

I want to read Dating You/Hating You by Christina Lauren! I have read almost all of Christina Lauren’s books, and I always enjoy them so much so since this is their newest release I figured I’d get it read since I’m so excited for it!

9780349417516

Despite the odds against them from an embarrassing meet-awkward at a mutual friend’s Halloween party, Carter and Evie immediately hit it off. Even the realization that they’re both high-powered agents at competing firms in Hollywood isn’t enough to squash the fire.

But when their two agencies merge—causing the pair to vie for the same position—all bets are off. What could have been a beautiful, blossoming romance turns into an all-out war of sabotage. Carter and Evie are both thirtysomething professionals—so why can’t they act like it?

Can Carter stop trying to please everyone and see how their mutual boss is really playing the game? Can Evie put aside her competitive nature long enough to figure out what she really wants in life? Can their actor clients just be something close to human? Whether these two Hollywood love/hatebirds get the storybook Hollywood ending or just a dramedy of epic proportions, you will get to enjoy Christina Lauren’s heartfelt, raucous, and hilarious romance style at its finest.

Challenge 2: Read a hyped book

I think for this challenge I’m going to be reading Winterson by S. Jae Jones! I have two different copies of this book and I’ve heard so many good things about it so I hope I can get to it since I’ve been interested in reading it since it came out!

DArNIOlXkAAXuAX

Beware the goblin men and the wares they sell.

All her life, nineteen-year-old Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, mysterious Goblin King. He is the Lord of Mischief, the Ruler Underground, and the muse around which her music is composed. Yet, as Liesl helps shoulder the burden of running her family’s inn, her dreams of composition and childish fancies about the Goblin King must be set aside in favor of more practical concerns.

But when her sister Käthe is taken by the goblins, Liesl journeys to their realm to rescue her sister and return her to the world above. The Goblin King agrees to let Käthe go—for a price. The life of a maiden must be given to the land, in accordance with the old laws. A life for a life, he says. Without sacrifice, nothing good can grow. Without death, there can be no rebirth. In exchange for her sister’s freedom, Liesl offers her hand in marriage to the Goblin King. He accepts.

Down in the Underground, Liesl discovers that the Goblin King still inspires her—musically, physically, emotionally. Yet even as her talent blossoms, Liesl’s life is slowly fading away, the price she paid for becoming the Goblin King’s bride. As the two of them grow closer, they must learn just what it is they are each willing to sacrifice: her life, her music, or the end of the world.

Challenge 3: finish a book in one day

So it might be hard for me to do this but I think I’ll be picking a nice cute romance novel to get through in a day since I fly through those so fast since they’re super addicting! I think I’ll be diving into the Hacker series with Hardwired by Meredith Wild! I was super excited when I found out this was a book series with the same characters rather than companion novels. I don’t really mind companion novels but I really love when books are following the same characters! I’ll get more into that when I get my review of this book posted!

9781473526976

Determined to overcome a difficult past, Erica Hathaway learns early on how to make it on her own. Days after her college graduation she finds herself face to face with a panel of investors who will make or break her fledgling startup. The only thing she didn’t prepare for was going weak in the knees over an arrogant and gorgeous investor who’s seemingly determined to derail her presentation. 

Billionaire and rumored hacker Blake Landon has already made his fortune in software, and he’s used to getting what he wants with very little resistance. Captivated by Erica’s drive and unassuming beauty, he’s wanted nothing more since she stepped into his boardroom. Determined to win her over, he breaks down her defenses and fights for her trust, even if that means sacrificing a level of control he’s grown accustomed to.

But when Blake uncovers a dark secret from Erica’s past, he threatens not just her trust, but the life she’s fought so hard to create.

Challenge 4: Read about a character that is different from you.

So I’ll be reading the first book in the Castles Ever After series by Tessa Dare! It’s titled Romancing the Duke! THis character is different from me because she is the daughter of a famous author who has never been kissed. Because my mother is a nurse and my dad is a retired marine and I have been kissed before….but yes! I really want to read her books so I did my best to make sure I could read this and make it count to a challenge!

RomancingTheDuke

As the daughter of a famed author, Isolde Ophelia Goodnight grew up on tales of brave knights and fair maidens. She never doubted romance would be in her future, too. The storybooks offered endless possibilities.

And as she grew older, Izzy crossed them off. One by one by one.

Ugly duckling turned swan?
Abducted by handsome highwayman?
Rescued from drudgery by charming prince?

No, no, and… Heh.

Now Izzy’s given up yearning for romance. She’ll settle for a roof over her head. What fairy tales are left over for an impoverished twenty-six year-old woman who’s never even been kissed?

This one

Challenge 5: Read a book completely outdoors.

So it’s super hot outside in California right now so I don’t really want to sit outside and read for like 6 hours so I’ll be reading Alex + Ada Vol. 2! It’s a graphic novel about a guy and an android! I read the first book and loved it so I got the second one and I still haven’t read it so I figured I would during this readathon!

Alex-Ada-V2

Challenge 6: Read a book you bought because of the cover.

So for this challenge I’ll be reading Chasing Spring by R. S. Grey! I haven’t read a book by her yet but I bought this book recently because the cover is just stunning! I just think it’s gorgeous and I’ve heard it’s really good so of course I had to get it! I’ll update you all on my thoughts!

91ZO2E35JiL

I thought I’d left Blackwater, Texas behind for good. I didn’t belong in the small town, but my dad wouldn’t listen. He dragged me back home in his beat-up truck and dropped a bomb along the way: Chase Matthews was moving in with us. He was the golden boy of my high school, my former best friend, and the last person I wanted sleeping across the hall. His presence was too great a reminder of the ghosts I was trying to forget.

I didn’t ask for a hero. I don’t want to be saved.

To me, Lilah Calloway meant late nights sneakin’; out, moonlit hair, and sparklers in July. She was my best friend until the day she left and I’d assumed Blackwater had seen the last of her. Then, like a tempest, she rolled back into town for the final half of senior year. The chopped hair and dark devil-may-care attitude warned most people away, but I knew if I fought hard enough, I could find the lost girl.

I didn’t want to be her hero. Some girls don’t need to be saved. 

Challenge 7: Read 7 books 

I’m not going to be picking a book to read for this one because I really just want to read whatever I’m in the mood for at that time to finish up this challenge!

And that is my TBR for this readathon! Make sure to check out twitter and see what’s going on! Just type in booktubeathon2017 and you’ll be able to see everything people are reading and other things going on for the booktubeathon! Let me know in the comments if you plan on joining this readathon and what you want to read for it!

 

 

Leave a Reply

