Author of the Month/Paintbrush Review

Hey everyone it’s time for my Author of the Month post for my blog! I recently read Paintbrush by Hannah Bucchin and I loved it so so much that I felt Hannah definitely was my author of the month!

This novel was her debut novel and I am so blown away and I honestly cannot wait for whatever else Hannah offers us in the book world! I’ll leave links to her website and Instagram here:

Website: Hannah Bucchin Website

Instagram: Hannah Bucchin Instagram

I honestly just suggest giving her book Paintbrush a try because you’ll definitely fall in love with it! I’m leaving my review for you all down below!

32452313._UY2700_SS2700_

Paintbrush by Hannah Bucchin

Publisher: Blaze Publishing LLC

Published: July 11, 2017

Rating: 5/5

Summary: Mitchell Morrison and Josie Sedgwick have spent their whole lives at the Indian Paintbrush Community Village, a commune full of colorful characters tucked in the mountains of North Carolina, and they aren’t particularly close–at least, not anymore. Josie wishes she could spend all of her time at Paintbrush planting tomatoes, hiking the trails, or throwing giant communal birthday parties, while Mitchell can’t wait to escape the bizarre spiritual sharing and noisy community dinners. Luckily for both of them, high school graduation is just around the corner.

But when Mitchell’s mother makes a scandalous announcement that rocks the close-knit Paintbrush community, and Josie’s younger sister starts to make some dangerously bad decisions, the two find themselves leaning on each other for support – and looking at each other in a whole new light. Their childhood friendship blossoms in to something more as they deal with their insane families, but as graduation approaches, so does life in the real world, forcing Josie and Mitchell to figure out what, exactly, their relationship is – and if it can survive their very different plans for the future. 

So as mentioned above I love this book. It’s so good and you can really relate to the characters. It’s a dual perspective novel told from Mitchell and Josie’s perspectives. You follow them as their senior year draws to a close and they both are dealing with personal things and personal decisions involving college and their life going forward.

Josie is fine staying at home with her family, and as the story goes on she starts to question her decision on why she really wants to stay there and what she wants to do with her life as a high school graduate.

Mitchell just wants to leave home and go out in the world as soon as his diploma hits his hand.

As he and Josie start to get closer to graduation, things start to develop between them and we watch their relationship grow and they try to figure out how their going to continue this relationship when they have different things in mind for their futures.

Their relationship was something I really enjoyed reading about because it just seemed so real between them and they had realistic problems and it’s something many couples who read this can relate to. I think I relate to Josie the most (and not just because I’m a girl and so is she); mainly because she and I had similar fears once the end of high school came upon us. We were both unsure what we wanted to do and it scared us to even think about leaving home and what is in store for us.

Bucchin really did write such a relatable story and wrote such great characters who had flaws, doubts, and had such a beautiful friendship. I loved reading about their relationship both as friends and as a couple.

Paintbrush, the town in the novel, is such a fun place too! I liked reading about the community they lived in, and we got such a good glimpse into their lives.

Also Michell’s friendship with his best friend Cord is so cute and fun! Cord is one of my all time favorite characters I’ve read this year! He was so supportive of Mitchell’s relationship, was there for him during the hardest part of his life when his mom dropped a bomb on him and his father. He was just a nice, supportive best friend and it’s something you really don’t read much about. They were so different, but they really clicked!

Overall I loved this book, it was just a fantastic debut novel from an author who I will definitely be keeping an eye on in the future! Highly recommend this book and I hope you will give it a try!

Let me know in the comments your thoughts on this novel and if you’ve read it as I would love to know!

 

 

Leave a Reply

