The Dark Net

30971743._UY2114_SS2114_

The Dark Net by Benjamin Percy

Publisher: Hougton Mifflin Harcourt

Published: August 1st, 2017

Rating: 4.25/5

*Thank you to HMH for sending me this early copy to read and review for my blog! *

Summary: The Dark Net is real. An anonymous and often criminal arena that exists in the secret far reaches of the Web, some use it to manage Bitcoins, pirate movies and music, or traffic in drugs and stolen goods. And now an ancient darkness is gathering there as well. This force is threatening to spread virally into the real world unless it can be stopped by members of a ragtag crew:

Twelve-year-old Hannah — who has been fitted with the Mirage, a high-tech visual prosthetic to combat her blindness– wonders why she sees shadows surrounding some people.

Lela, a technophobic journalist, has stumbled upon a story nobody wants her to uncover.

Mike Juniper, a one-time child evangelist who suffers from personal and literal demons, has an arsenal of weapons stored in the basement of the homeless shelter he runs.

And Derek, a hacker with a cause, believes himself a soldier of the Internet, part of a cyber army akin to Anonymous.

They have no idea what the Dark Net really contains.

Set in present-day Portland, The Dark Net is a cracked-mirror version of the digital nightmare we already live in, a timely and wildly imaginative techno-thriller about the evil that lurks in real and virtual spaces, and the power of a united few to fight back.

Basically people need to help the world by defeating a virus that will spread and take over the world and the people.

This is my first book by Benjamin Percy and I really did enjoy it and I thought it was so well written and constructed! The plot idea for this book was unique to me and it was what really got me into reading it and diving it. The synopsis really doesn’t go along with the book throughout much of the book but that left me wondering what would happen and I think that’s what made the book so much more interesting to me.

His characters were so different and unique and interesting and I think they really made the story so fascinating as well! They had a lot of depth and were very well rounded people even though the book was so short and didn’t leave much room for growth for them. I do think they were pretty well developed for the length given.

I definitely think this book was interesting that he didn’t add any romance even though there was an obvious couple in the story, and I think that was a little bit weird for me since I’m such a romance lover! But I did enjoy it all the same even without romance.

This novel was fast paced though, and was a mix of genres like sci-fi, thriller, and mystery. Those are genres I always enjoy reading so I was definitely a fan! It reminded me of a zombie book in a way with the idea of a virus infecting people in the world.

But Lela, a main character and a journalist, has a niece Hannah, who is fitted with a eye piece that will help her see, and as she starts getting infected and sees a shadow, her mother saves her. Which leads to Lela uncovering that the shadows and the newest story she has uncovered are related. It all builds up to Zero Day which is when Portland will be  attacked.

I really don’t want to say much more about the plot because the whole adventure in reading this book is best left unknown and discovered for yourself. I mean, that’s what made the story for me and why I enjoyed this book while reading it. And there were some moments where I was really on edge!

Overall I highly recommend this book to others who really are looking for a good thriller/mystery novel. It’s very technology based and the writing is very direct which I though was great, as well as the descriptions of places and characters. It didn’t drag on about people and settings, and I think in this type of story that really worked in it’s favor.

Let me know in the comments if you’ve read this book and your thoughts as I would love to hear about them!

One thought on “The Dark Net

Leave a Reply

