Strange the Dreamer

StrangetheDreamerHB.jpg

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Published: March 28th, 2017

Rating: 2-stars

Summary: The dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way around—and Lazlo Strange, war orphan and junior librarian, has always feared that his dream chose poorly. Since he was five years old he’s been obsessed with the mythic lost city of Weep, but it would take someone bolder than he to cross half the world in search of it. Then a stunning opportunity presents itself, in the person of a hero called the Godslayer and a band of legendary warriors, and he has to seize his chance or lose his dream forever.

What happened in Weep two hundred years ago to cut it off from the rest of the world? What exactly did the Godslayer slay that went by the name of god? And what is the mysterious problem he now seeks help in solving?

The answers await in Weep, but so do more mysteries—including the blue-skinned goddess who appears in Lazlo’s dreams. How did he dream her before he knew she existed? And if all the gods are dead, why does she seem so real?

So this book I got like 4 hours into the audiobook and just stopped listening to it. I just didn’t care anymore about it.

There were some moments dealing with like a limbo or something that I was so confused with. I honestly didn’t care about the other world with the other main character. I only really wanted to really about Lazlo and his travels and storyline.

I just didn’t care about the book anymore.

And I was bored.

It didn’t hook me in and I was bummed because I wanted to really like this book and I just didn’t.

I think I’m done trying to read Laini Taylor’s work. I’ve tried to read her Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy, and I didn’t get past like 100 pages, and then this one I didn’t finish it either.

I don’t really have much else to say since I didn’t get very far into this book. But I didn’t like it and didn’t want to finish it.

I don’t know if I would recommend this book, but I think that if you’re interested in her writing to definitely check it out! Her writing just wasn’t for me.

Let me know your thoughts down below as I would love to know!

 

Leave a comment